Swim. Sleep. Eat. Repeat.
I wish I could say that there was more to my life than swimming, sleeping, and eating everything in sight, but there really isn't. All summer, day in and day out, it's a constant cycle of swimming, eating, sleeping, and computer usage. Not that I really mind, but my life is becoming tedious, which is something I'm not really happy about. I want an adventure over the summer, something to talk about once school starts next month. Not this, "Oh, I swam all summer and barely went anywhere other than the pool, the library, and sometimes to various stores to buy stuff I needed," because that gets boring after two summers of telling everyone that.
There's practice tomorrow morning and I'll be honest; I kind of don't want to go. It's the last day and all, and I'm sure the coaches will have an easy set or something (if we're lucky), but I just want to have a day where I don't need to think about swimming, waking up early, or even having my parents mention that swim season is starting in a week and a half and that I need to be on my A game so that I can potentially be put on varsity, or something along those lines.
Life is short, and it seems like instead of having fun and relaxing like many of my classmates did this summer, I was at the pool for two to four hours every day, busting my butt so that I can maybe be captain (which didn't work out) or snag a place on varsity (we'll see). I know that all my hard work will pay off in the end, but I just don't know. I've pretty much been preparing three years for this season, and it sometimes feels like those three years are just more time wasted on being good, but not good enough for other people who will yet again decide my fate on a school swim team. I'm sick of it.
I dunno. I guess I'm just angry at this system that's been egging me on to keep swimming and to push myself until I physically can't do it anymore.
Swim. Swim. Swim.
No comments:
Post a Comment